Christmas Shopping

I was reading my mail this morning and received at least 4 adverts for Black Friday.  What’s that – it’s new again (at least to NZ) but must have been around a while in America.  Well I dislike shopping at the best of times, even the groceries, how would I cope with a shopping gorge just because it’s a Friday.  Christmas is now a reason for shopping, blowing out the credit card and buying everyone you can thint of a gift – oh and it can’t be a set of hankies anymore either.  Now it’s a goat for an African village or a sack of seed for India or something.  All good and well but then the “giftee” goes – well where’s my gift?”

I was reading my Zen Habits (www.zenhabits.net) this morning about a challenge to not buy anything till 2013.  Could you do it?  I’d have to give in to a gift for my grandson I’m afraid.  I’m a grinch in someways but not entirely a scrooge.  I love Christmas and the reason for doing it, but that doesn’t extend to shopping till I drop or spending my last bean and some of next years too.  My husband and I have had a “rule” for a long time – we don’t do gifts, what do you buy for someone whom you’ve been married to for 32 years?  So we buy a treat when you see what you’d like.  My son gets a gift – a needed and wanted thing, but not a blow me out of the water price.

Could I not buy anything till 2013 I don’t know but I’m going to be doing what I always do, shop sparingly, shop early in the mornings and enjoy the time of year.  Have a great day with my little family, enjoy the gift that is a son, grandchild and a family time.  There will be food, but as it’s summer here we’ll have a BBQ or cold meats and salads and I’ll try not to overindulge.  The only traditional thing will be the hot steamed Christmas pudding lovingly steamed in the next night or two, steeped with brandy and rich with fruit.  Yum!

Do you go broke for Christmas or do you do the minimum with maximum fuss and love and hugs?

2 thoughts on “Christmas Shopping

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    I totally avoid the mall from November until January. I hate shopping. I try to buy from local shops and I don’t give many gifts. I’m not a Scrooge just not into all the waste of unnecessary stuff.

  2. I’m sure we are not alone – just reading in the paper about the chaos at stores after Thanksgiving, amazing! Its a bit like drinking till you’re sick – why would you? Thanks for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply

